2021 EMSA Awards

View the video of the event here!

California EMS Awards with time, date, and location

The digital program from the 2021 California EMS Awards ceremony held May 17, 2022 at the LA County Fire Museum.




Fifty-six (56) Californians will be honored for their heroic acts and extraordinary contributions to EMS on May 17th in Bellflower at the LA County Fire Museum.

SACRAMENTO – Elizabeth Basnett, Acting Director of the California Emergency Medical Services Authority (EMSA), has announced the recipients of California Emergency Medical Services Awards for 2021. Initiated in 2007, the annual awards honor and recognize exceptional acts and service by individuals working or volunteering in California’s emergency medical system.

EMS personnel are trained to provide stabilizing and lifesaving care. These EMS awards laud noteworthy or extraordinary acts and outstanding service while working as EMS certified or licensed personnel, administrators, educators, volunteers, or civilians within the EMS system.

“It is my pleasure to honor the 2021 California EMS Awards recipients, comprised of individuals who deserve public recognition for their remarkable feats of care and significant contributions to the EMS field,” said Acting Director Basnett. “This outstanding group of EMS providers, first responders, and citizens have demonstrated a commitment to service, outstanding clinical interventions, and in many cases acts of courage, that truly deserve public recognition.”

Most of the awards will be presented during a luncheon ceremony at the Mayne Events Center co-located with the LA County Fire Museum, home to an exhibit of the iconic television show, “Emergency!” In addition to the 56 awards presented on May 17, Clinical Excellence Awards and Certificates of Commendation will be presented at the recipients’ home stations apart from the formal ceremony in Bellflower.

The awards ceremony is generously sponsored by the California Health Care Foundation, American Medical Response/REACH Air Medical Services, CARESTAR Foundation, Medic Ambulance, California Ambulance Association, California Paramedic Foundation, Ridgecrest Regional Hospital, Life-Assist, Bound Tree Medical, AlphaOne Ambulance Medical Services, and the Nor Cal Fire Chiefs Association. The event will be held at no cost to the State of California. For additional information about the awards and the ceremony, visit www.emsa.ca.gov/awards.

Event registration is available through Noon on May 3 at https://2021caemsawards.eventbrite.com


2021 California EMS Awards Recipients

Statewide Awards


City Affiliation
Emergency Medical Technician OF THE YEAR AWARD
April Grolle Santa Clara American Medical Response – Santa Clara
Jane Smith San Francisco California Rescue Paramedic Association
John Brown San Francisco San Francisco County EMS
Steve Carroll Oxnard Ventura County EMS


Individual Awards


Name City Affiliation
Daniel Aleman Los Angeles Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department
Mark Prozorov West Sacramento American Medical Response
Shawn Ormsby Rio Oso American Medical Response
BJ Bartleson Sacramento California Hospital Association
Dan Burch Turlock San Joaquin County EMS Agency
Dave Duncan MD Placerville County of El Dorado EMS Agency
Karolyn Fruhwirth Santa Fe Springs Los Angeles County EMS Agency
Fred Hawkins Ridgecrest
William Johnson Camarillo Ventura County EMS
Tom Lynch Yucaipa Inland Counties Emergency Medical Agency
Marty Marshall Chico Enloe Medical Center
Pamela Martinez Ontario Ontario Fire Department
Michael Patterson Bishop Global Medical Response/Sierra Life Flight
Victoria Pinette Rocklin Sierra-Sacramento Valley EMS Agency
Harold Renollet Fair Oaks Sacramento Medical Reserve Corps
Dan Smiley
Sean Trask
Brian Federmann Santa Barbara Santa Barbara City Fire Department
Andrew Fick Redlands Inland Counties Emergency Medical Agency
Allison Herman Chico Enloe Medical Center – Flight Care
Troy Keenan Chico Enloe Medical Center – Flight Care
Nicole Kuhn Winters Enloe Medical Center
Tyler Lombard Willows Enloe Medical Center
Brian O’Rourke Newport Beach Newport Beach Fire Department
Jeremy Sample Chico Butte County EMS
Eusebia Aragon Ceres American Medical Response
Brian Basso Oxnard Oxnard Fire Department
Jarred Neal Oakland Oakland Fire Department
Pat Owens Chico Enloe Medical Center
Kyle Pedretti Walnut Creek Royal Ambulance
Tom Schwedhelm Moraga Moraga-Orinda Fire Protection District
Angelina Tinoco San Lorenzo Royal Ambulance
Andrew Watkins Menifee CAL FIRE – Monte Vista Unit/San Diego County Fire
Inter-service EMS Recognition Award
Valentino Aguirre Yuba County Yuba County Sheriff’s Department
Victor Avila San Jose San Jose Police Department
John Broc Hawthorne Hawthorne Police Department
Jed Cato Woodland Hills California Highway Patrol – West Valley
Dan Garcia Mountain View Mountain View Police Department
Ryan Higgins Fremont Fremont Police Department
Jennifer McCue Elk Grove Elk Grove Police Department
Casey Ramstead Woodland Hills California Highway Patrol – West Valley
Christopher Reed San Jose San Jose Police Department
Michael Roberson San Jose San Jose Police Department
Jaie Sacco Rancho Cordova Rancho Cordova Police Department
Community service Award
Randy Mantooth
Kevin Tighe
Civilian Award FOR EMS
Jonathon Feit Danville n/a
Araceli Gibson Fresno n/a
John Poimiroo El Dorado Hills n/a
Jennifer Siordia Chico n/a
Andrea Tole Seal Beach n/a
Stephen Wilson San Francisco n/a
CLINICAL EXCELLENCE AWARD (presented at recipients’ home stations)
Jenilee Awichen Milpitas Royal Ambulance
Carter Allen Hollister AMR – San Benito County
Steven Clifton Sebastopol American Medical Response – Contra Costa County
Donald Glover Hayward Falck Alameda County
Keith Hedenberg Newport Beach Newport Beach Fire Department
Andrew Huizinga Redlands Inland Counties Emergency Medical Agency
Zach Jimenez Alameda Royal Ambulance
Drew Kaford Newport Beach Newport Beach Fire Department
CLINICAL EXCELLENCE AWARD (presented at recipients’ home stations)
Manny Lopez Fremont Fremont Fire Department
Forrest Munden Redlands Inland Counties Emergency Medical Agency
Adam Novak Newport Beach Newport Beach Fire Department
Robert Sebree Camarillo Ventura County EMS
Katherine Stewart Livermore NorCal Ambulance
Ryan Viss Fremont Fremont Fire Department
Lucas Williams Hayward Falck Alameda County
Jason Wyatt Fremont Fremont Fire Department
CERTIFICATE OF COMMENDATION (presented at recipients’ home stations
Michael Murray Hawthorne Hawthorne Police Department
Michael Tyson Eureka Humboldt Bay Fire


































































(Click here for award category descriptions)