California Tactical EMS Advisory Committee


The California Tactical EMS (CTEMS) Advisory Committee was initially formed in 2013 to share information and best practices statewide among Tactical Emergency Medical Services (TEMS) leaders.  The committee is designed to collaborate and harmonize the efforts of State and local agencies, groups, individuals, and training programs representing law enforcement, emergency medical services, and fire service centered around tactical emergency medical services.  Through the cooperative efforts of law enforcement, fire service, and EMS, the committee can identify a shared direction for the improvement of TEMS activities in California.  The formation of this committee was inspired by Ken Whitman, POST Special Consultant, who championed the multi-disciplinary nature of tactical EMS.  As a tribute, this committee is nicknamed the Whitman Committee.

This committee was formalized upon the passage of AB1598 (Rodriguez, Statutes of 2014) that added Health and Safety Code 1797.116 and 1797.134 effective January 1, 2015.  Dr. Howard Backer, Director of the California EMS Authority, has formally designated the California Tactical EMS Advisory Committee as the body responsible, under Health and Safety Code 1797.134, for carrying out the activities described in Health and Safety Code 1797.116.

CTEMS Committee Members


Position Representing Primary Member Appointment Expiration Alternate Member
State EMSA Dan Smiley/Todd Frandsen
State Commission on POST Dan Toomey Bob Ziglar
State State Fire Training Vacant
State CalOES Kim Zagaris
1 California Sheriff’s Association Jack Ewell
2 California Police Chief’s Association Robert Fager
3 Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department providing TEMS Steve Doucette
4 Law Agency providing TEMS (North) Chris Waite Andrew Rateaver
5 Law Agency providing TEMS (South) Carlos Mejia
6 CHP Ron Wilson
7 CPOA Kim Petersen Eric Lane
8 California Fire Chiefs Association Wolfgang Knabe Ray Ramirez
9 FIRESCOPE Jason Shelton Ray Navarro
10 LA City Fire providing TEMS Adam Knabe
11 Fire Agency providing TEMS (North) John Kammeyer Marc Symkowick
12 Fire Agency providing TEMS (South) Patrick Lewis
13 CAL-Fire Dave Wade Curtis Brown
14 CPF Kevin White
15 EMSAAC/Local EMS Agency Cathy Chidester
16 EMDAC/EMS Medical Director Tom Ronay MD
17 California Ambulance Association Mickey Huber
18 EMS Commission Steve Drewniany
19 Private EMS Provider providing TEMS (North) Marc Akyama
20 Private EMS Provider providing TEMS (South) Rick Carvalho, American Mike Estrada
Members at Large
21 At-Large Member (LEMSA) Jim Morrissey Elsie Kusel/Mike Marsh
22 At-Large Member (Fire) Ray Casillas
23 At-Large Member (Law) Val Bilotti
24 At-Large Member (Training) Lawrence Heiskell MD Steven Patterson MD
25 At-Large Member (Medical) Michael Eby MD