Local EMS Agencies

The EMS Authority provides statewide coordination and leadership for the planning, development, and implementation of local EMS systems. California has 33 local EMS systems that are providing emergency medical services for California’s 58 counties. Seven regional EMS systems and twenty-six single county agencies provide the services. Regional systems are usually comprised of small, more rural, less-populated counties and single-county systems generally exist in the larger and more urban counties.

Local EMS Agency Information

Alameda County EMS Agency

Alameda County
Director: Lauri McFadden
Medical Director: Karl Sporer, MD, FACEP, FACP
1000 San Leandro Blvd., Ste. 200
San Leandro, CA 94577
Phone: (510) 618-2050
Fax: (510) 618-2099
Email: Lauri.McFadden@acgov.org

Central California EMS Agency*

Central California (Fresno, Kings, Madera, Tulare)
Director: Dan Lynch
Medical Director: Jim Andrews, MD
PO Box 11867

Fresno, CA 93775
Phone: (559) 600-3387
Fax: (559) 600-7691
Email:dlynch@fresnocountyca.gov

Coastal Valleys EMS Agency*

Coastal Valleys (Mendocino/Sonoma)
Manager: Bryan Cleaver
Medical Director: Mark Luoto, MD, FACEP
195 Concourse Blvd.

Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Phone: (707) 565-6501
Fax: (707) 565-6510
Email: bryan.cleaver@sonoma-county.org

Contra Costa County EMS Agency

Contra Costa County
Director: Patricia Frost
Medical Director: David Goldstein, MD
777 Arnold Drive, Suite 100
Martinez, CA 94553
Phone: (925) 608-5454
Fax: (925) 228-2492
Email: patricia.frost@cchealth.org

El Dorado County EMS Agency

El Dorado County
Manager: Michelle Patterson, MPH
Medical Director: David R. Brazzel, MD

2900 Fair Lane Court
Placerville, CA 95667
Phone: (530) 621-6505
Fax: (530) 621-2758
Email: michelle.patterson@edcgov.us

Imperial County EMS Agency

Imperial County
Manager: Christopher Herring
Medical Director: Kathy Staats, MD
935 Broadway Ave
El Centro, CA 92243
Phone: (442) 265-1364
Fax: (760) 482-4517
Email: christopherherring@co.imperial.ca.us

Inland Counties Emergency Medical Agency*

Inland Counties (Inyo, Mono, San Bernardino)
Administrator: Tom Lynch
Medical Director: Reza Vaezazizi, MD, FACEP

1425 South “D” St.
San Bernardino, CA 92415-0060
Phone: (909) 388-5823
Fax: (909) 388-5825
Email: tom.lynch@cao.sbcounty.gov

Kern County EMS Agency

Kern County
EMS Coordinator: Jeff Fariss
Medical Director: Kristopher L. Lyon, MD, FACEP
1800 Mt. Vernon Ave.
Bakersfield, CA 93306
Phone: (661) 868-5216
Fax: (661) 868-1204
Email: farissj@kerncounty.com

Los Angeles County EMS Agency

Los Angeles County
Director: Cathy Chidester BSN, MSN
Medical Director: Marianne Gausche-Hill, MD, FACEP, FAAP, FAEMS
10100 Pioneer Blvd., Suite 200
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670
Phone: (562) 378-1500
Fax: (562) 941-5835
Email: cchidester@dhs.lacounty.gov
EMT Certification Inquiries: EMTinfo@dhs.lacounty.gov

Marin County EMS Agency

Marin County
Administrator: Kim Bowman
Medical Director: Dustin Ballard, MD
1600 Los Gamos Dr., Suite 220
San Rafael, CA 94903
Phone: (415) 473-2588
Fax: (415) 473-3747
Email: kbowman@marincounty.org

Merced County EMS Agency

Merced County
Administrator: Jim Clark
Medical Director: Ajinder SIngh, MD, CPE
260 East 15th St.
Merced, CA 95341
Phone: (209) 381-1250
Fax: (209) 381-1259
Email: JClark@co.merced.ca.us

*Regional Agencies

 

Monterey County EMS Agency

Monterey County
Director: Mike Petrie
Medical Director: James Stubblefield, MD, FACEP, FAAEM
1441 Schilling Place, South Building
Salinas, CA 93901
Phone: (831) 755-5013
Fax: (831) 775-8040
Email: petriem@co.monterey.ca.us

Mountain-Valley EMS Agency*

Mountain-Valley (Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Mariposa, Stanislaus)   
Executive Director: Lance Doyle
Interim Medical Director: Kevin Mackey, MD, FACEP
1101 Standiford Ave #D1
Modesto, CA 95350
Phone: (209) 566-7211
Email: ldoyle@mvemsa.com

Napa County EMS Agency

Napa County Administrator: Brian Henricksen Medical Director: Zita Konik, MD 2751 Napa Valley Corporate Dr., Bldg. B Napa, CA 94558 Phone: (707) 253-4341 Fax: (707) 299-4126 Email: brian.henricksen@countyofnapa.org

North Coast EMS Agency*

North Coast EMS Agency (Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake) Director: Larry Karsteadt Medical Director: Ken Stiver, MD 3340 Glenwood Ave. Eureka, CA 95501 Phone: (707) 445-2081 Fax: (707) 445-0443
Email: larry@northcoastems.com

Northern California EMS Agency*

Northern California (Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Sierra, Trinity) Chief Executive Officer: Dan Spiess Medical Director: Eric Rudnick, MD, FACEP, FAAEM 930 Executive Way, Suite 150 Redding, CA 96001 Phone: (530) 229-3979 Fax: (530) 229-3984
Email: dspiess@norcalems.org

Orange County EMS Agency

Orange County Administrator: Tammi McConnell RN, MSN, MICN, PHN Medical Director: Carl H. Schultz, MD, FACEP, FAAEM, 405 West Fifth St., Suite 301A Santa Ana, CA 92701 Phone: (714) 834-3500 Fax: (714) 834-3125
Email:emslicensing@ochca.com

Riverside County EMS Agency

Riverside County Administrator: Bruce Barton Medical Director: Reza Zaezazizi, MD, FACEP 4210 Riverwalk Parkway Suite 300 Riverside, CA  92505 Phone: (951) 358-5029 Fax: (951)358-5160
Email: bbarton@rivco.org

Sacramento County EMS Agency

Sacramento County Administrator: Dave Magnino Medical Director: Hernando Garzon, MD, FACEP 9616 Micron Ave, Ste 960 Sacramento, CA 95827 Phone: (916) 875-9753 Fax: (916) 875-9711 Email: magninod@saccounty.net

San Benito County EMS Agency

San Benito County Coordinator: Kris Mangano Medical Director: Dave Ghilarducci, MD, FACEP 471 Fourth Street Hollister, CA 95023 Phone: (831) 636-4168 Fax: (831) 636-4165 Email: kmangano@cosb.us

San Diego County EMS Agency

San Diego County
Administrator: Andrew Parr
Medical Director: Kristi Koenig, MD, FACEP
6255 Mission Gorge Rd.
San Diego, CA 92120
Phone: (619) 285-6429
Email: andrew.parr@sdcounty.ca.gov

San Francisco County EMS Agency

City and County of San Francisco
Administrator: James Duren
Medical Director: John Brown, MD, MPA, FACEP
90 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone: (415) 487-5000
Fax: (415) 552-0194
Email: james.duren@sfdph.org

 

San Joaquin County EMS Agency

San Joaquin County
Administrator: Dan Burch
Medical Director: Katherine A. Shafer, MD
P.O. Box 220
French Camp, CA 95231-0220
Phone: (209) 468-6818 Fax:
(209) 468-6725

Email: dburch@sjgov.org

San Luis Obispo County EMS Agency

San Luis Obispo County
Administrator: Vince Pierucci
Medical Director: Thomas G. Ronay, MD
2180 Johnson Ave., 2nd Floor
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone: (805) 788-2512
Fax: (805) 788-2517
Email: vpierucci@co.slo.ca.us

San Mateo County EMS Agency

San Mateo County
Director: Nancy Lapolla
Medical Director: Gregory H. Gilbert, MD, FAAEM
801 Gateway Blvd 2nd Floor
South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone: (650) 573-2564
Fax: (650) 573-2029 Email: nlapolla@smcgov.org

Santa Barbara County EMS Agency

Santa Barbara County
Director: Nick Clay
Medical Director: Angelo Salvucci, MD
300 North San Antonio Rd.
Santa Barbara, CA 93110-1316
Phone: (805) 681-5274
Fax: (805) 681-5142
Email: nicholas.clay@sbcphd.org

Santa Clara County EMS Agency

Santa Clara County
Director: Jackie Lowther
Medical Director: Kenneth Miller, MD, PhD
700 Empey Way
San Jose, CA 95128
Phone: (408) 794-0610
Fax: (408) 792-1350
Email: jackie.lowther@ems.sccgov.org

Santa Cruz County EMS Agency

Santa Cruz County
Administrator: Brenda V. Brenner
Medical Director: David Ghilarducci, MD, FACEP
1080 Emeline Ave.
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone: (831) 454-4751
Fax: (831) 454-4488
Email: brenda.brenner@santacruzcounty.us

Sierra-Sacramento Valley EMS Agency*

Sierra-Sacramento Valley (Butte, Colusa, Glenn, Nevada, Placer, Shasta, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, Yuba)
Director: Victoria A. Pinette, MS
Medical Director: Troy Falck, MD, FACEP, FAAEM
5995 Pacific St.
Rocklin, CA 95677
Phone: (916) 625-1702
Fax: (916) 625-1730
Email: vickie.pinette@ssvems.com

Solano County EMS Agency

Solano County
Administrator: Ted Selby
Medical Director: Bryn E. Mumma, MD, MAS
335 Tuolumne St.
Vallejo, CA 94590
Phone: (707) 784-8155
Fax: (707) 421-6618
Email: tselby@solanocounty.com

Tuolumne County EMS Agency

Tuolumne County Coordinator: Clarence Teem Medical Director: Kimberly Freeman, MD, FACEP, NREMT-P 20111 Cedar Road North Sonora, CA 95370 Phone: (209) 533-7460 Fax: (209) 533-7406
Email: cteem@co.tuolumne.ca.us

Ventura County EMS Agency

Ventura County
Administrator: Steve Carroll
Medical Director: Daniel Shepherd, MD
2220 E. Gonzales Rd., Suite 200
Oxnard, CA 93036-0619
Phone: (805) 981-5301
Fax: (805) 981-5300
Email: steve.carroll@ventura.org

Yolo County EMS Agency

Yolo County
Administrator: Kristin Weivoda
Medical Director: John Rose, MD
137 N. Cottonwood Street, Suite 2601
Woodland, CA 95695
Phone: (530) 666-8671
Email: kristin.weivoda@yolocounty.org