State of California – EMS Awards Program

2018 EMS AwardsBrave. Dedicated. Willing. Reliable. These words describe the 80,000 licensed or certified EMS providers in California. They demonstrate these qualities every day by coming to the aid of others when they are most in need and working to ensure that the EMS system operates well. However, each year, due to circumstance or extraordinary effort, certain individuals among us shine. The EMS Authority seeks to recognize those individuals through the California Emergency Medical Services Awards Program, taking place on December 5, 2018 at the Marines’ Memorial Club & Hotel in San Francisco.

The awards program honors special accomplishments, meritorious and heroic acts, innovations or fresh ideas to improve EMS in the state, or other unique and/or significant contributions by EMS personnel, physicians, nurses, EMTs, other medical providers, local officials, members of the law enforcement community, citizens, and first responders. Award categories include Medal of Valor, EMS Cross, Distinguished Service Medal, Meritorious Service Medal, Lifesaving Medal, Community Service Award, Inter-service EMS Recognition Medal, Civilian Award for EMS, EMT of the Year Award, EMS Educator of the Year Award, EMS Medical Director of the Year Award and EMS Administrator of the Year Award. Clinical Excellence Awards will be presented at the recipients’ home stations.

2018 CA EMS Award Recipients

Luncheon and Ceremony registration available in October.

Be a Sponsor

Learn about different sponsorship opportunities here.

Nominate an EMS Hero

Various levels of personnel comprise the EMS system and an array of categories was created to include them all. Click here to view descriptions of the different awards. The EMS Authority may also present certificates of recognition, appreciation, or other awards as dictated by particular circumstances.

The award period for the nominations for the awards is continuous. Individual and statewide awards will be made by EMSA. Nominations submitted after September 15, 2018 will be considered for the 2019 award ceremony.

Click here to nominate an individual for the EMS Awards.

Award categories include:

Civilian Award for EMS
Community Service Award
Distinguished Service Medal
EMS Administrator of the Year
EMS Cross
EMS Educator of the Year
EMS Medical Director of the Year
EMT of the Year
Inter-service EMS Recognition Medal
Lifesaving Medal
Medal of Valor
Meritorious Service Medal

Past Recipents

2016 Award recipients

2015 award recipients

2014 Award Recipients

2013 Award Recipients

2012 Award Recipients

2011 Award Recipients

2010 Press Release


2016 Photo book

2015 Photo Book

2014 Photo Book

2013 Photo Book

2012 Ceremony Photos

2011 Press Release

2009 Award Recipients


2017 Press Release

2016 Press Release

2015 Press Release

2014 Press Release

2013 Press Release

2012 Press Release

2010 Award Recipients

2009 Press Release

2008 Award Recipients


Contact Information

If you have any questions or need further information please contact External Affairs at (916) 431-3700 or e-mail.