Commission on EMS Membership


Sean Burrows, EMT-P

California Professional Firefighters

Captain, Alameda County Fire Department
6363 Clark Ave.
Dublin, CA 94568


Vice Chair

Marc Gautreau, MD

Public Fire Protection Agency Medical Director

Medical Director, San Jose Fire Department
Clinical Associate Professor, Stanford University
900 Welch Rd., Suite 350
Palo Alto, CA 94304


Administrative Committee

Atilla Uner, MD

California Chapter, American College of Emergency Physicians

Emergency Physician and Base Station Medical Director, Antelope Valley Hospital
1600 W Avenue J
Lancaster, CA 93534

Paul Rodriguez, EMT-P

California State Firefighters’ Association

Firefighter, City of Long Beach
3361 Palo Verde Ave.
Long Beach, CA 90808


Ken Miller, MD, PhD

EMS Medical Directors Association of California

Medical Director, Santa Clara County EMS Agency
700 Empey Way, Suite 110
San Jose, CA 95128


Steve Barrow

Public Member – Rural Communities

CEO, Advocates for Health, Economics and Development

Thomas Giandomenico

California Peace Officers Association

Lieutenant, LA County Sheriff’s Department
21695 E. Valley Blvd.
Walnut, CA 91789

Nancy Gordon

Public Member

Lydia Lam, MD

California Chapter, American College of Surgeons

Associate Professor of Clinical Surgery and Emergency Medicine Program Director, Keck School of Medicine, USC
2051 Marengo Street
Inpatient Tower (C), 5th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90033

Masaru “Rusty” Oshita, MD

California Medical Association

Medical Director, Urgent Care Now, Inc.
12417 Fair Oaks Blvd., Suite 600
Fair Oaks, CA 95628

Commissioner Oshita Headshot

Lori Morgan, MD

California Hospital Association

President and CEO of Huntington Health
100 W. California Blvd.
Pasadena CA 91105

Jodie Pierce

California Labor Federation/California Rescue and Paramedic Association

Deputy Fire Chief, San Diego Fire Rescue
600 B St., Suite 1300
San Diego, CA 92101

Carole Snyder, RN, MS

California Emergency Nurses Association

Director of Emergency Preparedness, PIH Health Hospital Whittier
12401 E Washington Blvd.
Whittier, CA 90602

David Ghilarducci, MD

Local Health Officer

Deputy Health Officer/Health Officer, County of Santa Cruz, County of San Benito
1080 Emeline Ave
Santa Cruz, CA 95060

Travis Kusman, EMT-P, MPH

EMS Administrators’ Association of California

Director, San Mateo County EMS Agency
801 Gateway Blvd., Suite 200
South San Francisco, CA 94080

Kristin Thompson, EMT-P

California Fire Chiefs Association

EMS Division Chief, City of Newport Beach, Fire Department
100 Civic Center Dr.
Newport Beach, CA 92660

Todd Rausser


Deputy Chief – EMS Program

715 P St., Sacramento, CA. 95814


Todd Valeri

California Ambulance Association

CEO, American Ambulance
2911 East Tulare Street
Fresno, CA 93721

James V. Dunford, MD, FACEP

Emergency Medicine Physician

Professor Emeritus of Emergency Medicine
UC San Diego School of Medicine
PO Box 371788
San Diego, CA 92137