EMS Systems Division — Trauma Level Overview


All trauma centers are licensed hospitals, designated by a local Emergency Medical Services Agency (LEMSA) as a Trauma Center, and include personnel, services, and equipment necessary for the care of trauma patients. General requirements for all trauma centers include:

  • A trauma program medical director and a trauma nurse coordinator
  • A basic emergency department (minimum)
  • A multidisciplinary trauma team
  • Specified service capabilities
  • Performance Improvement and Patient Safety Program
  • Trauma Registry (data collection)

Trauma Center designations include levels I – IV and Level I and II Pediatric (pediatric specific facilities). The Trauma Center level information below is provided as a quick reference. It is intended only as a basic overview and is not inclusive of all requirements. It is recommended that readers consult the specific requirements for each Trauma Center designation level included in Title 22, Division 9, Chapter 7 – Trauma Care Systems which can be accessed at: regs7.pdf


Level I & II:

Level I and II Trauma Centers have similar personnel, services, and resource requirements with the greatest difference being that Level Is are research and teaching facilities.

Level I & II Pediatric:

Level I and II Pediatric Trauma Centers focus specifically on pediatric trauma patients. Level Is require some additional pediatric specialties and are research and teaching facilities.

Level III & IV:

Level III and IV trauma centers generally provide initial stabilization of trauma patients with the greatest difference being surgical capabilities at the Level III facilities.