EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES AUTHORITY

1930 9th STREET SACRAMENTO, CA 95811-7043 (916) 322-4336 FAX (916) 324-2875







CONTACT: June Iljana (916) 322-4336

Emergency Medical Services Authority to Present Annual EMS Awards

WHAT:	Dr. Steven Tharratt, Director of the California Emergency Medical Services Authority, will present awards for exceptional service or accomplishment in emergency medical response.
WHEN:	Wednesday, December 2, 2009 at 10 a.m.
WHERE:	Marines Memorial Club and Hotel 609 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
WHO:	EMSA Director Steve Tharratt, M.D., MPVM Bruce Lee, Chair, Commission on Emergency Medical Services
WHY:	The EMS awards are intended to honor and recognize noteworthy or exceptional acts and service while working as EMS certified or licensed personnel, administrators, trainers, or volunteers within the EMS system.

Visit <u>http://www.emsa.ca.gov/about/awards/default.asp</u> for additional information about the EMS Awards.

INDIVIDUAL AWARDS (2008)

MEDAL OF VALOR

<u>Craig Scott, EMT-P, California Highway Patrol Northern Division</u> For actions on October 16, 2008, to rescue a child under extreme conditions

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE MEDAL:

David Hoyt, M.D., FACS, University of California, Irvine Medical Center For providing statewide Trauma system leadership for over 25 years

Donald H. Cheu, M.D., FACS, San Mateo County EMS Agency For providing statewide Disaster leadership for more than 30 years

MERITORIOUS SERVICE MEDAL:

<u>Terry Crammer, R.N. Los Angeles County EMS Agency</u> *For providing educational leadership in paramedic training for more than 18 years*

Jeremiah Glass, EMT-P, of Chico, First Responder EMS

For actions on December 23, 2008, to successfully intervene in a dangerous situation above and beyond the call of duty

INTER-SERVICE EMS RECOGNITION MEDAL

Officer Scott Lindsay, Ripon Police Department

For providing timely and life-saving treatment on January 27, 2009, for a victim of an obstructed airway

STATEWIDE EMS SYSTEM AWARDS (2008)

EMS ADMINISTRATOR OF THE YEAR:

Barbara Pletz, R.N., San Mateo County EMS Agency For providing leadership for EMS Education and EMT2010

EMS MEDICAL DIRECTOR OF THE YEAR:

Joe Barger, M.D., of Martinez, Contra Costa County EMS Agency For providing leadership on the Statewide EMS Scope of Practice Committee

EMS EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR:

Doug Boileau, MPH, EMT-P, of Arcata, North Coast Paramedic Training Program For providing leadership for EMS Education in Rural California