Welcome Training Program Director(s) and Instructor(s)
In response to COVID19, EMSA has reviewed its interpretation of home study, which is prohibited by statute for this training.
EMSA interprets home study to mean training that takes place in an individual’s home, or through an online format that is not interactive.
Courses that use an online virtual classroom setting(s) that allow for real-time interaction with the instructor are allowed.
Skills practice and evaluation must be completed in-person.
In order to ensure the safety of children at child care centers and homes, the statute and regulations set forth requirements for child care training programs to operate within the State of California.
*Note* If you receive an order with damaged or missing contents. Immediately contact:
- Child Care Training Roster
Training Program Applications
- Child Care 7 Hour Preventive Health and 1 Hour Nutrition Applications (Child Care Preventive Health Training Program — review fee is $240) (*Please note that the Preventive Health course is now8 hours. As of January 1, 2016, one hour of nutrition must be included in the Preventive Health and Safety Practices Program. Application content will be further updated once training regulations have been revised.)
- Lead Poisoning Prevention Application – Beginning July 1, 2020, all Preventive Health and Safety Practices training programs for child care providers are required to include lead poisoning prevention instruction under the Health and Safety Code, Section 1596.866. The Health and Safety Code further requires that this instruction is consistent with the comprehensive Child Care Lead Poisoning Prevention Training Curriculum developed by the California Department of Public Health (CDPH). As of June 11, 2020, CDPH is providing this curriculum at no charge. Please check the CDPH website for updates.
- Pediatric First Aid and CPR Training Program Application (Child Care Pediatric First Aid and CPR Training Program — review fee is $240)
Please allow 60 days for review of your application. Keep a copy of everything sent in.
Statutes and Regulations
- Regulations for Child Care Provider First Aid, CPR, and Preventive Health Training Programs [PDF]
- Child Care First Aid Statutes [PDF]
Frequently Asked Questions
I’d like to submit an application for a training program to teach First Aid, CPR, and/or Preventive Health and Safety practices to child care providers. How do I do this?
You will need to submit a complete application for a training program review, an application fee of $240, and the course materials from your training program. If you cannot download an application or the document that you need, you may call EMSA at (916) 322-4336, extension 445, and leave your name, address, telephone number, and which application or document you want. We will send you the application or document and a copy of the regulations for the specific program to which you are applying.
It is important that you read the entire regulations document before you apply. These regulations are the standards for the training programs and provide the rules for participating in the program. Compliance with these regulations is mandatory for all approved programs.
Are there any fees associated with the childcare training program?
Yes. The review and approval fees are $240 for a First Aid/CPR training program and $240 for a Preventive Health and Safety practices training program. Once a program is approved, renewal fees are $240 every two years. There are also fees to purchase stickers that are required to be affixed to student completion cards or certificates. The cost is $3.00 per sticker for First Aid, CPR, and Preventive Health and Safety stickers.
Who can order child care course completion stickers?
Any current EMSA approved child care First Aid, CPR, and/or Preventive Health and Safety practices training program or their affiliates can order child care course completion stickers. A current EMSA approved training program is a training program whose expiration date has not passed. EMSA will not sell child care course completion stickers to training programs whose training program approval has expired.
Some EMSA-approved programs allow affiliates to teach its approved curriculum and takes responsibility for those affiliates. Affiliates are instructors or business affiliates who use the EMSA approved curriculum of their parent training program to train childcare providers in pediatric First Aid, CPR, or Preventive Health and Safety practices training. Approved training programs are considered parent programs if they have affiliate instructors or training business affiliates. Parent training programs must submit lists of their affiliates to EMSA and these lists determine which affiliates are eligible to purchase stickers.
What do child care course completion stickers cost? Is there a minimum order?
Child care course completion stickers are $3.00 each. It is payable by credit or check/money order made out to the TPA fund. Cash is not accepted. There is no minimum number of stickers you must order.
What is the time frame for processing course completion stickers?
There is no guaranteed time frame to process course completion stickers, only an estimate. Once the sticker order is received, it is normally processed within 1-3 business days unless an issue arises. Once the stickers are mailed out, the current estimate is two weeks (10 business days) for you to receive the stickers ordered. EMSA recommends that training programs plan ahead for their course completion sticker needs because of the turn-around time for sticker orders.
Can I create my own Lead Poisoning Prevention curriculum to include in my Preventive Health & Safety practices program?
Program directors may create their own lead poisoning prevention curriculum; however, it must be consistent with the CDPH curriculum and submitted to EMSA for approval.
The CDPH’s Lead Poisoning Prevention curriculum contains a 30-minute or 1-hour module. Am I required to add an extra 30-minutes or 1-hour into the 8-hour Preventive Health & Safety Practices training?
The Health and Safety Code does not impose a length of time required to deliver the lead poisoning prevention curriculum, nor does it require trainers to extend their programs beyond 8 hours. Programs may reduce optional topics from the Preventive Health & Safety Practices training to accommodate the additional Lead Poisoning Prevention material within the 8-hour time frame, or they may extend their training beyond 8-hours if they choose. However, to comply with the requirement to be consistent with the CDPH curriculum, all required material listed in the Lead Poisoning Prevention application must be addressed in your training program.
Can I teach the Lead Poisoning Prevention curriculum as a stand-alone class?
Yes, if your Lead Poisoning Prevention curriculum is approved by EMSA, you may offer it as a stand-alone class.