The State of California requires all persons that provide paramedic level scope of practice emergency medical services to obtain a valid state issued paramedic license.
Online paramedic licensing is now available! CLICK HERE for the link to the online system. Select the following link to apply.
Paramedic License Fee Increase
On Wednesday, July 1, 2020, paramedic license application fees will increase by $25.00. The following is a list of the new fees:
Initial In-State Paramedic License Application: $275.00
Initial Out-of-State Paramedic License Application: $325.00
Initial Challenge Paramedic License Application: $325.00
Renewal Paramedic License Application: $225.00
Reinstatement Paramedic License Application: $275.00
EMT/AEMT Certification Information
Epinephrine Auto-Injector Certification
Local EMS Agencies (LEMSA’s)
Military Veteran Pathways to EMT Certification and Paramedic Licensure
National Registry of EMTs (NREMT) Information
Paramedic Complaint & Discipline
- Initial In-State (California Graduates) Paramedic License Application Packet
- Initial Out-of-State Paramedic Application Packet
- Initial Challenge Paramedic Application Packet [Physicians, RN’s, Physician Assistants, and MICN’s ONLY]
- Lapsed License Reinstatement Lapsed Less Than One Year Application Packet
- Lapsed License Reinstatement Lapsed One Year or More Application Packet
- Renewal Paramedic Application Packet
- AUDIT Renewal Paramedic Application Packet
ADDITIONAL PARAMEDIC INFORMATION
Renewal Deadlines Table
Reinstatement (Lapsed License) Applications Requirements Table
- Live Scan Locations: Department of Justice (DOJ) Office of the Attorney General Website
- Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA)
- CAPCE (formerly CECBEMS) Approved Continuing Education Courses/Providers Important notice: Paramedics must provide their state paramedic license number upon registering for CAPCE courses to ensure state approval of CE credits.
- LEMSA Approved local and online NREMT Transition Courses [PDF]
- Paramedic Training Programs
- Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges Western Association of Schools and Colleges (ACCJC)
- Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) – Paramedic Program Accreditation
- Department of Consumer Affairs – Bureau for Private Post Secondary Education
PARAMEDIC TESTING – NREMT (National Registry of EMTs)
- National Registry of EMTs (NREMT) Information
- Contact NREMT
- NREMT NCCP
– California has not adopted the NCCP model yet; therefore, the NREMT “Traditional” recertification model remains available for California paramedics.
OTHER PARAMEDIC INFORMATION
- Community Paramedicine
- Local Optional Scope of Practice
- Paramedics Deployed to California on Mutual Aid
- Out of State Mutual Aid Form
- Mutual Aid FAQ’s
- Trial Studies
Tell Us What You Think
Your experience is important to us.
If you have something to share, we are listening.
Your feedback is one of the best tools
we have to identify our strengths, as well as
opportunities to improve.
Paramedic Page – Contact Information:
Paramedic Mailing Address:
California Emergency Medical Services Authority
Paramedic Licensure Program
10901 Gold Center Drive, Ste. 400
Rancho Cordova, CA. 95670-6073
Phone: 916-323-9875 / 916-324-2875(fax)